Both a state in north India and a province in eastern Pakistan. At partition, the British split Punjab, dividing it between the two neighbors. The name Punjab means “five waters,” or “five rivers,”and signifies the land drained by the Jhelum, Chenab, Ravi, Beas, and Sutlej rivers, which are tributaries of the Indus River.

« Back to Glossary Index

Share This!